Region of Queens Municipality

showcase default 1

Canada is a democratic constitutional monarchy, with a Sovereign as head of State and an elected Prime Minister as head of Government.

Canada has a federal system of parliamentary government: Government responsibilities and functions are shared between federal, provincial and territorial governments.

Federal responsibilities are carried out by the Monarchy and the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of Government.

Our current monarch is Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II and her representative in Canada, the Governor General, is His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston.

The current Prime Minister of Canada is Justin Trudeau, leader of the Liberal Party. Click here for a list of political parties in Canada.