logo-faded

Region of Queens Municipality

Nova Scotia, Canada

There are so many opportunities to experience the history of Queens while you are here! From Perkins' "haunted" House to an Outhouse Museum, from Blacksmithing to Hank Snow - Queens has so much to enjoy.

Idyllically set by the Milton Falls on the Mersey River, this quaint 1903 restored Smithy shop tells the story of a bygone age. All are welcome to view the forge, the ox sling, and the displays on horseshoeing and wood and metal working. The museum also features historical photos of Milton.

GPS: 44.060013, -64.754105

351 West Street, Milton
902-356-3113

Open June to mid-October. 10am - 4pm

 

 

Built in 1854, the Heritage House is one of the oldest homes in North Queens. Built by Milton Douglas, the son of one of the first settlers, this house is furnished with turn of the century artifacts with displays of logging history, archives on North Queens and local genealogy. A recent addition to the Heritage House is the NF Douglas Store Display.

The original NF Douglas store was a fixture in Caledonia for over 130 years. Generations of Douglas' manned this business which once was a general store and in later years a hardware store. When the hardware store changed hands and moved, an abundant collection of memorabilia, ledgers, records and merchandise was donated to the North Queens Heritage House and is now proudly displayed.

GPS: 44.37224, -65.03294

25 West Caledonia Road, Caledonia
902-682-2989

Open June to September. Tuesday – Saturday 10am - 5pm. Admission by donation.
C@P site

 

 

Just up the hill from Main Street lives a unique collection of museums all housed in an old school. The Guide Sports, Hunting, Fishing, and Mi'kmaq Museum features images and artifacts of early guiding and native life. The Wildlife Museum is sure to please and amaze with its 18' foot giraffe, musk ox, polar bear and a supporting cast of other North American and African animals. Visitors always flush with excitement over the Outhouse Museum. The fun continues outside with teepees, an early settler's cabin, a blockhouse and a recreation of Maud Lewis' tiny house.

GPS: 44.036836, -64.714792


205 Church Street, Liverpool, NS
902-354-3067

Please call ahead for opening hours and dates.

Admission: $5 adults, $4 seniors, $3 students. Under 6 free

 

 

Been everywhere man? The Hank Snow Home Town Museum celebrates one of Queens' favourite sons. Housed in the former railway station where the singer was a frequent visitor, the Museum features personal memorabilia of the chart-topping artist, including his 1947 Cadillac convertible.
Canadian country music stars, including Wilf Carter, Ronnie Prophet and another Queens' native, Carroll Baker are also showcased.

A re-creation of the Station Master's office displays local railroading history and a gift shop offers rare country music CDs, tapes and unique souvenirs.

GPS 44.045540, -64.720448

Kelly Inglis - Administrator
17 Hank Snow Drive, Liverpool, NS
902-354-4675
www.hanksnow.com

Open year round weekdays 9am - 5pm
May 15 - October 15, also open Saturdays 9am - 5pm, Sundays 12pm - 5pm
Admission: $5 adults, $4 Students & Seniors (55+), Under 5 & Members free.

 

 

Perkins House is the oldest dwelling in the Nova Scotia Museum collection. This charming example of a Cape Cod was built in 1766 for Simeon Perkins, a native of Connecticut. Perkins came to Nova Scotia in 1762 during the Planter migration and participated in Privateering, soon becoming one of Liverpool's leading citizens. Among the many features of this graceful old home is the Perkins Diary, Simeon's 40 year testimonial to colonial life in Liverpool. Be careful of the "ghosts" of the house – they pop up at any moment and help tell the story of this fascinating man and the age in which he lived.

GPS 44.040339, -64.712369

105 Main Street, Liverpool
902-354-4058
www.perkins.museum.gov.ns.ca

Open June 1 – October 15.
Monday – Saturday 9:30-5:30, Sunday 1-5:30.
Admission $4.00/adult, $9/family

Check out the Perkins House listing on HistoricPlaces.ca for more information on the building.

 

 

Built in 1980, the Museum was designed to represent a large warehouse from Liverpool's Colonial days. Here you will discover the story of Queens County's rich natural and human history. Delve into the history of the Mi'kmaq, the Privateers, our African Heritage, Shipbuilding, the Log Drivers and our involvement with the two world wars. Get your swashbuckle on, step on board the scale replica of the 'Liverpool Packet', and fire the cannon!

The Thomas H Raddall Research Centre is a haven for genealogists and is a treasured part of the museum with its early Township records from 1759, with details on many Mayflower families who eventually settled here. As part of the Research Centre you will find a faithful reproduction of the famed author's study, using some of his own furnishings.

GPS 44.040222, -64.712758

Linda Rafuse – Curator
109 Main Street, Liverpool
902-354-4058
www.queenscountymuseum.com

 

 

 

Website - 902-354-5741 graphic