Region of Queens Municipality

Nova Scotia, Canada

In the spring of 1999, Council approved the formation of a Heritage Advisory Committee whose mandate is to:

  • Act in an advisory capacity to Council;
  • Provide advice and information to the public, regarding heritage, in a timely and consistent manner;
  • Assist individuals or groups in matters relating to the designation of heritage properties, both provincial and municipal;
  • Advise Council of the Region of Queens Municipality regarding:
    • the inclusion of buildings, streetscapes, and areas in the Region of Queens Registry of Heritage Properties;
    • an application for permission to substantially alter or demolish a Region of Queens Heritage Property;
    • building or other regulations that affect the attainment of the intent and purpose of the Heritage Property Act; and
    • any other matters conducive to the effective carrying out of the intent and purpose of the Heritage Property Act.
  • To raise public awareness and interest in heritage throughout the Region of Queens Municipality;
  • With Council's approval, establish criteria and an evaluation process for designating municipal heritage properties.

The Heritage Advisory Committee is made up of at least eight members who are appointed for a Two Year term by Council. The Committee consists of at least two members of Council, at least one member of the Queens County Historical Society, at least one member of the North Queens Heritage Society, and individuals who have otherwise demonstrated active concern for the preservation of buildings of historical significance.


In the spring of 2001, Council approved the formation of a Planning Advisory Committee whose purpose would be to to advise Council on issues relating to the preparation of, and amendments to, planning documents, and on land use planning matters in general. Three (3) members of Council and one representative from each of the seven (7)* electoral districts currently sit on the Committee. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers of the Regional Administration Building, located at 249 White Point Road in Liverpool, on the first (1st) Monday of each month at 7:00 pm.

Planning Advisory Committee District Expiry
Councillor Susan MacLeod   October 31, 2018
Councillor Heather Kelly   October 31, 2018
Councillor Raymond Fiske   October 31, 2018
Robert Ross District 1 October 31, 2018
Julie Petrella District 2 October 31, 2019
Kim Williams District 3 October 31, 2018
Mary White District 4 October 31, 2019
Wayne Wentzell District 5 October 31, 2018
Paul Connolly District 6 October 31, 2019
Don Kimball District 7 October 31, 2018


Planning Advisory Committee agenda packages are listed below:


The latest Planning Advisory Committee minutes are listed below:


Website - 902-354-5741 graphic